Laurie Ossman & Steven Brooke: Great Houses of the South

Rizzoli, 2010 (Go to the publisher’s website or amazon and buy the book; links will be added here asap.)

Book Description:

OssmanAn exquisitely photographed collection of the great houses and mansions of the South. In the tradition of Rizzoli’s Historic Houses of the Hudson Valley and Great Houses of New England, Great Houses of the South features a stunning array of newly photographed homes that range over three centuries and are distinctive examples of the architecture of the region. While in popular imagination the “Southern Style” is embodied in the classic Southern plantation house with its Greek Revival detailing – its stately white columns, wide porch, and symmetrical shape – the houses themselves are much more various and engaging, as shown in this important volume. From stately Stanton Hall of Natchez, Mississippi, one of the most magnificent and palatial residences of antebellum America; to Longue Vue House and Gardens of New Orleans, the luxurious Classical Revival–style home of Edgar and Edith Stern; to the fabled Biltmore of Asheville, North Carolina, the opulent French Renaissance–inspired chateau and Gilded Age estate of George Washington Vanderbilt, this lavish volume is comprehensive in scope and a landmark work of enduring interest to homeowners, architects, architecture historians, and all those who love fine architecture.

About the Authors:

Laurie Ossman has served as the Deputy Director at Vizcaya Museum and Gardens in Miami. Her previous positions include Chief Curator at The Henry Morrison Flagler Museum in Palm Beach, Florida, and Curator and Restoration Project Manager at Ca d’Zan, The John & Mable Ringling Museum of Art in Sarasota.

Steven Brooke is a fellow of the American Academy in Rome and winner of the A.I.A. National Institute Honor Award for photography. He is the photographer of Rizzoli’s Aqua, Seaside Style, and Miami: Mediterranean Splendor and Deco Dreams.

0 Responses to “Laurie Ossman & Steven Brooke: Great Houses of the South”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s




Categories

Jan Olof Bengtsson D.Phil. (Oxon.)

Musae

Archives

All original writing © Jan Olof Bengtsson
"A Self-realized being cannot help benefiting the world. His very existence is the highest good."
Ramana Maharshi